Australian fast bowler Mitchell Johnson named ICC Cricketer of the Year

Australia's Johnson celebrates after taking the wicket of England's captain Alastair Cook during the third day of the fifth Ashes cricket test at the Sydney cricket ground

Sydney, Nov 15: Australian fast bowler Mitchell Johnson has won the coveted ICC Cricketer of the Year award for the second time. With this honour, Johnson has reportedly become the only second dual winner after former Australia captain Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007).

Johnson, who was named ICC best cricketer in 2009, has also been declared the ICC Test cricketer of 2014. During the voting period between 26 August 2013 and 17 September 2014, Johnson claimed 59 Test wickets at an average of 15.23. With this fiery performance he played a key role helping Australia regain the Ashes with a 5-0 sweep of England and then winning a series in South Africa.

The 33-year-old cricketer has won this award by beating several tough contenders including Sri Lankan Kumar Sangakkara and Angelo Mathews, South Africa’s AB de Villiers.

“Some of the greats of the game have been nominated and won this award, and it’s a very special honour,” a delighted Johnson reportedly said in an interview with a daily.

Other winners of this coveted trophy include Rahul Dravid (2004), Jacques Kallis and Andrew Flintoff (2005), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Sachin Tendulkar (2010), Jonathan Trott (2011), Kumar Sangakkara (2012) and Michael Clarke (2013).
While De Villiers won the ICC one-day international cricketer of the year, England’s Gary Balance was named the ICC emerging cricketer of 2014.

(With Agency Inputs)

Pic courtesy: Reuters


Related posts


eighteen + 15 =

Top }