Devendra Fadnavis to take oath as Maharashtra`s Chief Minister today; Shiv Sena may boycott the function

Devendra Fadnavis will take oath as Maharashtra's Chief Minister

Mumbai, Oct 31: Even as Devendra Fadnavis will take oath as the BJP’s first chief minister in Maharashtra, its erstwhile ally Shiv Sena, which broke 25-year-old alliance prior to the assembly polls, will boycott the ceremony because of “constant humiliation” despite talks being held for a possible alliance.

The reports boycott came out as senior BJP leader Rajiv Pratap Rudy made a remark that no Shiv Sena leader will be sworn in as minister on Monday, though talks will continue over a possible tie-up.

The BJP general secretary said: “It seems unlikely that any Shiv Sena minister will be sworn in tomorrow. Talks with Sena are on in an amicable atmosphere for a possible tie-up in Maharashtra but there has been no outcome yet.”

Maintaining that BJP was looking forward to a decision soon, he added,” This may not happen tomorrow.”

Shiv Sena MP Vinayak Raut later told mediapersons: “We have constantly been humiliated by the BJP, which has not gone down well with our MLAs. As our MLAs feel that BJP did not give us due respect, why should we attend the oath-taking ceremony?”

Governor C Vidyasagar Rao will administer the oath of office to 44-year-old Fadnavis at Wankhede Stadium in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, several of his Cabinet colleagues, chief ministers of BJP-ruled states, corporate leaders, Bollywood stars and other celebrities.

A small Cabinet of about a dozen ministers including state BJP core committee members Eknath Khadse, Sudhir Mungantiwar, Vinod Tawde and Pankaja Munde besides MLAs from Schedule Castes and Scheduled Tribes will also reportedly take oath.

BJP emerged as the single largest party in the 288-member state Assembly with 122 seats but one of its MLAs Govind Rathod died.

Though technically it will be a minority government until Sena joins it, declared support from 41-member NCP will act as a hedge for the BJP dispensation. It also has the support of several independent MLAs and those from some smaller parties.

(With Agency Inputs)


Related posts


15 − five =

Top }