Nitish confirms all 3 parties of Mahagathbandhan will be part of new govt

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar

Patna, Nov 14: Chief Minister-designate Nitish Kumar on Saturday confirmed that leaders from all the three parties of the grand alliance would be a part of the new government in Bihar.

Nitish was speaking to the media after he met the Governor to stake a claim to form the new government.

Kumar said: “We (Mahagathbandhan) fought the elections together, we will live up to the expectations of the people in Bihar together as well…Leaders from all three parties of the Mahagathbandhan will form the Government in Bihar.”

Earlier in day, Nitish was elected as the legislature party leader of the Mahagathbandhan, which comprises of the Janata Dal (United), the Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Congress Party.

The newly-elected legislators of the JD-U had met at Nitish Kumar’s residence and had elected him as their leader.

He had also submitted his resignation to Governor Ramnath Kovind after the cabinet decided to recommend the dissolution of the outgoing assembly.

Following the Bihar Assembly election result, where Grand Alliance has claimed a thumping majority, Kumar resigns from his post today. He would be sworn in again as the CM for the fifth time.

The tenure for the current assembly will expire on November 29, however, the legislative assembly will be dissolved on November 14.

Nitish Kumar, who led the Grand Alliance to a victory in the assembly elections, will stake claim to form a new government after a joint meeting of his party, the RJD and the Congress later today.

(With Agency Inputs)


Related posts


twenty + four =

Top }