Outgoing J-K CM Omar Abdullah wins from Beerwah, loses Sonawar

Omar Abdullah

Srinagar, Dec 23: Outgoing Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah on Tuesday won from the Beerwah assembly constituency but was defeated at the hands of People’s Democratic Party’s Ashraf Mir in Sonawar.

When reports rarlier stated that he has lost from Beerwah as well following which the Chief Minister tweeted and asked the media to get its facts right.

“Dear @IndiaToday please don’t be so quick to write my political obituary. Request you check Beerwah result again. Thank you,” tweeted Omar.

Earlier today, Omar congratulated PDP’s Ashraf Mir.

“Congratulations to Ashraf Mir for his victory in Sonwar. I wish him and the people all good luck for the next 6 years. He’s now my local MLA,” he tweeted

According to latest election trends in Jammu and Kashmir, the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) is leading in 29 seats, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is ahead in 25 seats, the Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (JKNC) is leading in 16 seats while the Congress is ahead in just 11 seats.

(With Agency Inputs)


Related posts


eight + 9 =

Top }