PM Narendra Modi hopes winter session of Parliament will be fruitful, result-oriented

PM Narendra Modi

New Delhi, Nov 24: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday expressed hope that the winter session of parliament would be fruitful and result-oriented.

Speaking to reporters on his way to Parliament, PM Modi said: “The people have given the responsibility to run the government but those who sit in parliament have been tasked with running the country. I hope the session of parliament is fruitful and result-oriented.”

He said: “It was because of the positive role by the opposition that good work (in parliament) could be done in the last session,” and expressed hope for a similar experience this time too.

The month long winter session of Parliament which began on Monday, but was adjourned for the day after obituary reference for sitting Rajya Sabha MP and senior Congress leader Murli Deora who died early morning.

Senior Congress leader and former Union Minister Murli Deora passed away in a Mumbai hospital on Monday morning after prolonged illness. He was 77 and is survived by his wife and two sons, including former MP Milind Deora.

The government has lined up 37 bills for introduction and another 19 for passage during the session. The list includes GST bill, Insurance act amendment bill and Lokpal bill amendments. The session will continue till December 23.

The Prime Minister on Sunday addressed an all-party meeting and assured them that collectively all important issues can be taken up and hoped that the month-long session will go “very well”.

The Trinamool Congress(TMC) and Samajwadi Party skipped the all party, but 40 leaders from 26 parties participated in the meeting.

The meeting was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Finance and Information and Broadcasting Minister Arun Jaitley, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge, Food Minister and Lok Janshakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan, JD (U) leader KC Tyagi, NCP leader Tariq Anwar, Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut, DMK leader Kanimozhi, CPI leader D Raja, INLD leader Dushyant Chautala, amongst others.

According to reports, Left parties, Trinamool Congress, JD(U), RJD, Samajwadi Party and BSP have decided to make a common cause against the Insurance bill and asked the Congress to support them for the “larger Opposition unity”.

On support to the Opposition move against the Insurance Bill, the Congress leader in Lok Sabha, Mallikarjun Kharge, reportedly said the party would first see what amendments the government brings.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Venkaiah Naidu has downplayed the Opposition move and expressed hope that these parties will understand the mood of the nation and the spirit of the mandate of the people and cooperate with the government.

(With Agency Inputs)


Related posts


1 × two =

Top }