Political deadlock on Land Acquisition Bill seriously impacting rural development, says PM Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi chairing the 2nd meeting of the Governing Council of NITI Aayog.

New Delhi, July 15: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday appealed to political parties not to come in the way of prosperity of farmers, as the deadlock over the land acquisition Bill would seriously impact rural development.

Ahead of the Parliament session, the Prime Minister said: “The political deadlock over land acquisition (law) is seriously impacting rural development, including the creation of schools, hospitals, roads and irrigation projects.”

Addressing the second meeting of the Governing Council of NITI Aayog, which was convened to discuss the land acquisition Bill, he said the Centre and States must move together to end poverty.

The meeting was boycotted by Chief Ministers of the nine Congress-ruled states. Only 16 CMs were present.

Observing that there was no difference between the Centre and states on paying enhanced compensation, Modi said, “political considerations should not come in the way of a solution that would facilitate development of rural areas, and greater prosperity for farmers”.

The Bill was before the Parliamentary Standing Committee, he said, adding that “ahead of the upcoming Parliament session, it was appropriate that the suggestions of states be listened to, once again”.

The Right to Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement Act or land acquisition Bill is being scrutinised by a 30-member joint committee of Parliament. The committee is scheduled to give its report later in the month.

Besides the CMs of the nine-Congress ruled states, the notable absentees were West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Tamil Nadu’s J Jayalalithaa, Odisha’s Naveen Patnaik and Uttar Pradesh’s Akhilesh Yadav.

The meeting, however, was attended by Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, besides the CMs of the NDA-ruled states.

The monsoon session of Parliament is scheduled to begin on July 21.

(With Agency Inputs)


Related posts


12 − eight =

Top }