Raghubar Das selected legislative party leader, set to be next Jharkhand CM

BJP leader Raghubar Das

Ranchi, Dec 26: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader, Raghubar Das, who has been selected as the leader of the legislative party in the state, is expected to become the first non-tribal chief minister of Jharkhand.

Union Health Minister J.P. Nadda, who is the BJP’s observer for Jharkhand, announced on Friday that Das has been selected as the leader of the legislative party in the state.

Speaking to reporters, Nadda said: “Raghubar Das ji has been selected as the leader of legislative party in Jharkhand.”

The former deputy chief minister, who won from the Jamshedpur assembly constituency this time, is seen as the front-runner for the top post as other BJP stalwarts including former chief ministers Arjun Munda and Babulal Marandi lost in the polls this time.

Earlier on Friday, Raghubar Das said that everything would be clear after the legislative party meeting.

Das, a five-time legislator from East Jamshedpur, will be the 10th chief minister of Jharkhand.

The BJP and its ally, the All Jharkhand Students Union, emerged victorious by bagging 42 seats in the 81-member assembly in the just concluded elections in the state.

Jharkhand has had nine governments and three stints of President’s Rule since it was created in 2000.

The BJP itself had two tribal chief ministers in the past—Babulal Marandi (once) and Arjun Munda (thrice).

JMM leaders Shibu Soren (thrice), Hemant Soren (once) and Madhu Koda (once) are the other tribal leaders who had been the chief ministers since the state’s creation 14 years ago.

The BJP/AJSU alliance got a majority, winning 42 out of 81 MLAs in the just concluded Assembly Elections.

(With Agency Inputs)


Related posts


twelve − twelve =

Top }