Raghubar Das takes oath as first non-tribal chief minister of Jharkhand

BJP leader Raghubar Das

Ranchi, Dec 28: BJP leader Raghubar Das took oath as the first non-tribal chief minister of Jharkhand at the Birsa Munda Football Stadium here on Sunday.

Five time BJP MLA Raghubar Das, who became a BJP national vice president in August, has been twice the BJP president in Jharkhand. He became the deputy chief minister in the Shibu Soren government after the 2009 Assembly Elections.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who was to attend the ceremony along with BJP chief Amit Shah, took to Twitter and said that he will not be attending the ceremony due to poor weather conditions. He also congratulated the people of Jharkhand for electing a stable government.

Cabinet Minister Venkaiah Naidu, however, was present during the ceremony.

BJP, which won 37 seats in recently held Jharkhand Assembly elections, is forming the government in coalition with ally AJSU (5 seats) in the 81 member Assembly which was till date notorious for its political instability.

Jharkhand has had nine governments and three stints of President’s Rule since it was created in 2000.

During election campaign, the BJP had promised a stable government in the state. It did not project a chief ministerial candidate and built its campaign around Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his development agenda.

(With Agency Inputs)


Related posts


12 − one =

Top }