Tamil Nadu CM Jayalalithaa wins R.K. Nagar by-polls by over 1.5 lakh votes; Cong wins Aruvikkara in Kerala

Tamil Nadu CM Jayalalithaa wins R.K. Nagar by-polls

Chennai, June 30: Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa won the R.K. Nagar by-polls by over 1.5 lakh votes on Tuesday. All the other candidates contesting the by-polls have lost their deposit.

According to reports, Tamil Nadu Governor K. Rosaiah congratulated Jayalalithaa on the victory.

Since the early trends started coming in, the party supporters went in celebratory mode with many of them thronging the AIADMK headquarters and Jayalalithaa’s Poes Garden residence here, raising slogans of ‘Puratchi Thalavi Vazhga (Hail revolutionary leader).

Party supporters said today’s trends were a ‘precursor’ to the assembly polls scheduled next year.

AIADMK’s allies like Republican Party of India, AISMK and Tamizhaga Vazhvurimai Katchi described Jayalalithaa’s massive margin lead as a ‘grand victory’ for her social welfare schemes besides her government’s efforts in addressing power shortage.

During her campaign on June 22 at RK Nagar, Jayalalithaa had not only sought a massive victory for her party, but insisted that it should be a ‘precursor’ to the next Assembly polls.

Referring to her conviction in a disproportionate assets case, in which she was subsequently acquitted, Jayalalithaa had said that there was a situation where she had to step aside as Chief Minister due to a ‘politically motivated case,’ while insisting that the June 27 bypoll on this constituency was a “compulsion”.

The by-election was necessitated following AIADMK’s P Vetrivel vacating the seat in May, apparently to enable Jayalalithaa seek re-election. She has to fulfil the constitutional requirement of getting elected as MLA within six months of becoming Chief Minister.

Jayalalithaa returned to the top post on May 23 after being acquitted in the disproportionate assets case by the Karnataka High Court. She had been convicted in the case in September last by a trial court in Bengaluru.

Meanwhile in Kerala, the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) comfortably won the by-polls, with its candidate K.S. Sabarinathan winning by over 10,000 votes.

Kerala Chief Minister Oommen Chandy on Tuesday said the result of the Aruvikkara by-polls was a precursor for the 2016 assembly elections in the state.

(With Agency Inputs)


Related posts


10 − three =

Top }