Yogi Adityanath named UP Chief Minister, to take oath with two deputy CMs

Priest-turned politician Yogi Adityanath

Lucknow: The BJP on Saturday named the priest-turned politician Yogi Adityanath as next Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, ending the suspense exactly a week after the party won a three- fourths majority in the key Hindi heartland state and stormed back to power after 15 years.
The priest-turned politician Yogi Adityanath was unanimously elected the BJP legislature party leader at a meeting of the newly elected MLAs. He will be sworn in tomorrow at a ceremony at Kanshiram Smriti Upvan here at 2.15 PM where Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah will be present.
State BJP chief Keshav Prasad Maurya, who was himself in contention for the top job besides union minister Manoj Sinha, first announced Adityanath’s election amid speculation that the RSS pushed for Yogi’s candidature
Maurya, the MP from Phulpur in Allahabad, will be the deputy chief minister apart from senior BJP leader and Lucknow Mayor Dinesh Sharma.
44-year-old five-term MP from Gorakhpur, Adityanath will be the 21st chief minister of UP and the fourth from the saffron party.
After his election, Adityanath met Governor Ram Naik and said he was invited to form the government in UP.
“I am confident that the state will march on the path of development,” he said in his first brief media interaction at the Raj Bhawan, and added that his efforts would be to provide “good governance” in the state.
Often caught in controversy because of his speeches, Adityanath allegedly led a “purification” drive for conversion of Christians to Hinduism in 2005.
In 2015, he reportedly said those who oppose yoga can leave India and that they should all be drowned.
Adityanath enjoys considerable popularity in the state and is known to make provocative statements, be it about Islam or Pakistan.
A strong votary of construction of the Ram temple at the disputed site in Ayodhya, Adityanath drove BJP’s Hindutva campaign in the eastern UP in the just concluded Assembly polls
Union Minister M Venkaiah Naidu, who along with BJP general secretary Bhupendra Yadav was present at the meeting as central observer for the election, told a press conference that Adityanath’s name was proposed by Suresh Khanna, an 8- term MLA, and seconded by 10 others
Naidu said even after the proposal was made, he asked the 312 newly elected MLAs if they wanted to propose anybody else for the post, but they all backed Adityanath unanimously.
Naidu said that the Yogi then said he needed two deputy CMs to assist him in the gigantic task, following which it was decided that Maurya and Sharma would hold the posts.
As the meeting was about to begin, an element of surprise gripped the venue when Adityanath reached Lok Bhawan opposite the imposing Assembly complex. Midway through the meeting, Sharma was asked to attend the deliberations.
Interestingly, none of the three is a legislator in UP.
The saffron-robed Gorakhpur MP is not known to enjoy good rapport with the BJP leadership and his elevation has left many puzzled, with political circles abuzz with talk of RSS having prevailed over the party in deciding the new chief minister.


Related posts


five × one =

Top }